WinPhoto
← All open contests
FR · Nominal entry · 2026 · verified

The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026

The Independent Photographer independent-photo.com ↗

Closes today

This deadline and every other verified one, in your calendar: Photo Contest Planner 2027, $10 one-time.

The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 closes on 31 October 2026; the organiser names no time zone, and we read it as UTC. The standard entry fee is 15 USD per image. Strict ban on AI-generated images. The licence covers every entry; it has no end date. Checked against the organiser's rules on 11 October 2026.

Top prize $1.5K grand prize
Fee Nominal 15 USD per image
AI policy No AI images AI tools restricted
Categories 4 4 single · 0 multi-image

Worth entering? $1.5K top prize against 15 USD per image. The jury read and the rights terms below are what decide it — not the prize math. Jury read ↓ · Rights & disqualifiers ↓

Submit-Safe · before you pay the entry fee Read the fine print

Read the fine print first — The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 has 3 hard disqualifiers and demanding rights terms.

What this contest takes

Standard terms — you keep copyright and full control; the licence is limited to promoting the contest.

  • Photographers retain copyright. FAQ: "Entries may be posted online and winning images may be used in connection with the Competition and promotion of the Competition." Rules: "Acceptance of prize constitutes permission for The Independent Photographer to use Winner's name, likeness, and entry for purposes of advertising and trade without further compensation, unless prohibited by law."
  • Duration: Not stated
  • You keep your copyright
  • Credited when used

What disqualifies you

AI-generated or AI-rendered content is disqualified.

  • Copyright ownership Entrant must be the photographer and copyright holder. “By entering the competition, You represent and warrant that your entry is an original work of authorship, and does not violate any third party's proprietary or intellectual property rights.”
  • AI rule AI-generated images are not accepted, and the FAQ answers No to AI-assisted images; all other post-production editing is allowed if the result stays photography-based. No original-file check is stated. “Artificial Intelligence generated images (A.I. Photos) are NOT accepted.”
Closes today 15 USD per image Upload spec: Files: JPG/PNGMin 1200px long edgeUnder 10 MBsRGB colour profileNo watermarks
Check your file against these file rules, free → No account · type, pixel size and file size, in your browser · it does not judge the photograph
Compare your RAW with the photo you plan to enter → free · on your device, nothing is uploaded · it does not judge the photograph
№ 02 · The editorial read

What this jury looks for

The Independent Photographer's editorial team and rotating guest jurors (typically working editorial / fine-art photographers). Values single-frame conceptual completeness — the photograph must work as a stand-alone image, not as part of a series. Stated priorities: single_frame_completeness > visual_voice > moment. Looks for: stand_alone…

Categories

Black & White

Single

Monochrome treatment of any subject — recurring core category across the calendar.

Portrait

Single

Single-subject or environmental portraiture — formal, candid, or documentary register.

Street

Single

Public-space documentary — candid moment, urban observation.

Monthly Theme (October 2026) — Open Call

Single

Single-image submission to the current month's competition (October 2026: Open Call — any genre: street, travel, fine art, landscape, documentary, portrait and more). Themes rotate monthly across genres.

F Format requirements 1 spec

tip_standard

  • File types: jpg, png
  • Min long edge: 1200px
  • Min size: 0.5 MB
  • Max size: 10.0 MB
  • Color profile: sRGB
  • No watermarks
E Eligibility 2 rules
  • Entrant must be the photographer and copyright holder. hard

    “By entering the competition, You represent and warrant that your entry is an original work of authorship, and does not violate any third party's proprietary or intellectual property rights.”

  • AI-generated images are not accepted, and the FAQ answers No to AI-assisted images; all other post-production editing is allowed if the result stays photography-based. No original-file check is stated. hard

    “Artificial Intelligence generated images (A.I. Photos) are NOT accepted.”

Jury context

The Independent Photographer's editorial team and rotating guest jurors (typically working editorial / fine-art photographers). Values single-frame conceptual completeness — the photograph must work as a stand-alone image, not as part of a series.

Priorities: single frame completeness visual voice moment composition subject specificity

Tone: stand alone decisive moment editorial register quiet authority resolved frame

Avoid: portfolio dependent sequenced only over processed cliched hobbyist

Past winners — text notes

Winners are typically clean single-frame photographs that resolve in the first second of looking. The monthly cadence rewards photographers with a deep archive who can match a frame to the theme — not photographers shooting fresh for each month's prompt.

These are text-only curatorial observations, never images of past winners.

Prizes

$3,000 monthly awards: 1st $1,500, 2nd $500, 3rd $300, plus $100 for each of the seven finalists. Winners and finalists are shown at the annual group exhibition in London. Feature on The Independent Photographer's Instagram and Facebook audience.

Exhibition Publication

R Rights & licensing what you grant the organizer
What you grant
Photographers retain copyright. FAQ: "Entries may be posted online and winning images may be used in connection with the Competition and promotion of the Competition." Rules: "Acceptance of prize constitutes permission for The Independent Photographer to use Winner's name, likeness, and entry for purposes of advertising and trade without further compensation, unless prohibited by law."
Duration
Not stated
Exclusivity
none
Attribution
Required
Copyright retained by photographer
Yes

From the journal

Before you enter — quick answers

Is The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 free to enter?
The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 is not free: 15 USD per image. Check the organizer's page for the full fee rules and any waivers.
Are AI-generated images allowed in The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026?
No. The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 has a strict ban on AI-generated images.
When is the The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 deadline?
The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 closes on 31 October 2026; the organiser names no time zone, and we read it as UTC.
How do I know if my photo is eligible for The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026?
Only the organiser decides whether an entry is eligible. Read The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026's published rules before you enter, in particular the editing line, the AI clause and the file requirements. WinPhoto's free contest file check compares your file's type, pixel size and file size with those file requirements, in your browser and without an account. It does not judge the photograph.