WinPhoto

Reportrecords as of

What photo contests take

Of the 34 contests, 24 take a licence over every photo entered, win or lose.

All 34 leave the copyright with the photographer; 33 take a licence instead, and who it covers, how long it lasts and what it allows differ from contest to contest.

34 contest records, each checked against the organiser’s published rules PDF snapshot Data (JSON) How it was made

24of 34

take a licence over every photo entered

25of 34

set no end date for the licence

21of 34

also allow third parties, sub-licensing or commercial use

16of 25

AI bans that ask for original or RAW files

All 34 leave the copyright with the photographer, and none asks for exclusive rights.

“AAP recognizes you, the author of the image, retain full ownership of the copyright in each Entry.”

AAP Magazine #62: Travels 2026 (All About Photo)rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

Who the licence covers

Of the 34 contests, 24 take a licence over every entry, 3 over shortlisted work and winners and 6 over winning or selected work only. One publishes no licence at all.

Every entry24
Shortlisted work and winners3
Winning or selected work only6
No licence published1

“By entering the competition, you grant World Sports Photography Awards, its sponsors, partners and media licensees a non-exclusive, irrevocable licence to reproduce, enlarge, publish or exhibit all submitted images in any media throughout the world at any time hereafter for any purpose directly connected with the awards.”

World Sports Photography Awards 2027rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

“By submitting images, entrants grant permission to the Underwater Photography Guide to use winning entries for the direct promotion of Underwater Photography Guide photo competitions, including Ocean Art.”

Ocean Art Underwater Photo Competition 2026rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

How long it lasts

Only 1 of the 34 contests sets a licence that ends in full, after a fixed term. At 7 it ends for some uses or entries only, and 25 set no end date at all. The licence is perpetual, at least in part, at 9 contests and irrevocable at 16.

Ends in full after a fixed term1
Ends for some uses or entries only7
No end date25
No licence published1
Perpetual, at least in part9
Irrevocable16

“a non-exclusive, worldwide, irrevocable licence, for the full period of any intellectual property rights (including all moral rights)”

Bird Photographer of the Year 2027 (BPOTY 12)rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

“Entrants licence the RPS to reproduce, without payment, any images for publicity and promotion purposes … for a period up to four years from the date of the open-call launching.”

RPS International Photography Exhibition 168 (open call)rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

What else it allows

At 21 of the 34 contests the licence reaches past the organiser’s own promotion: 15 extend it to sponsors, partners or other third parties, 12 allow sub-licensing or transfer, and 6 cover commercial use or merchandise.

Sponsors, partners or other third parties15
Sub-licensing or transfer12
Commercial use or merchandise6
At least one of the three21

“an irrevocable, perpetual, unlimited, non-exclusive, royalty-free, transferable, infinitely sub-licensable, worldwide license to use and exploit your Content”

PX3 Prix de la Photographie Paris 2026rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

“always with due credit and solely for promotional (non-commercial) use”

Getxophoto 2027 Open Call — "Tide" (21st edition)rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

AI rules, and how entries are checked

Of the 34, 25 ban AI-generated images, and 16 of those 25 ask entrants for original or RAW files to check entries; the other 9 do not ask for them. Of the rest, 2 accept AI work in a dedicated category and 7 have no AI rule in the published terms.

None of the 34 records mentions C2PA or Content Credentials.

Bans AI-generated images25
Ask for original or RAW files16
Do not ask for original files9
Accepts AI work in a dedicated category2
No AI rule in the published terms7

“If shortlisted, the RAW file for all images will be required.”

Travel Photographer of the Year 2026rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

“All submissions must be photographs. AI-generated imagery is strictly prohibited.”

Ocean Photographer of the Year 2026rules, checked 11 Oct 2026

What it costs to enter

Of the 34, 5 are free to enter. The other 29 charge a standard fee in their own currency: $10–$75 at 14 contests, €10–€35 at 7, £10–£35 at 7 and INR 2,360 at 1.

Free to enter5
Charge an entry fee29
$10–$7514
€10–€357
£10–£357
INR 2,3601

Standard fee, in the organiser’s own currency; no currency is converted.

Contest by contest

Every record counted above, with the rules it was checked against.

Contest Licence covers Licence ends Also allows AI rule
1839 Awards — Photographer of the Year 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
AAP Magazine #62: Travels 2026 (All About Photo) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Sub-licensing No AI rule
Annual Photography Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties No AI rule
Bird Photographer of the Year 2027 (BPOTY 12) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Sub-licensing · Commercial use Bans AI images · asks for originals
Chromatic Photography Awards 2026 (8th edition) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — No AI rule
Close-up Photographer of the Year 8 (CUPOTY) 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Shortlist and winners Ends in part Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
Communication Arts Photography Competition 2027 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — Bans AI images
The Epson International Pano Awards 2026 rules, checked 3 Jul 2026 Every entry Ends in part Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
Fine Art Photography Awards 2026–2027 (13th edition) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — No AI rule · asks for originals
Getxophoto 2027 Open Call — "Tide" (21st edition) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Winners or selected No end date — No AI rule
Glanzlichter der Naturfotografie 2027 (29th International Nature Photo Competition) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Winners or selected No end date Third parties Bans AI images · asks for originals
Global Wildlife Fair International Photo Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — Bans AI images · asks for originals
The Independent Photographer Monthly Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Commercial use Bans AI images
International Landscape Photographer of the Year 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry Ends in part Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
Monochrome Photography Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — No AI rule
Nature Photographer of the Year 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Shortlist and winners Ends in part Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
The Nature Photography Contest 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Winners or selected No end date Third parties Bans AI images · asks for originals
ND Awards 2026 (Neutral Density Photography Awards) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — No AI rule
Ocean Art Underwater Photo Competition 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Winners or selected No end date — Bans AI images · asks for originals
Ocean Photographer of the Year 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties · Commercial use Bans AI images
Photolucida Critical Mass 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 No licence published — — Bans AI images
PhotoVogue Global Open Call 2026 — Brave New Visions rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — Bans AI images
PX3 Prix de la Photographie Paris 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties · Sub-licensing · Commercial use AI category
RPS International Photography Exhibition 168 (open call) rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry Ends in full — Bans AI images · asks for originals
Sony World Photography Awards 2027 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry Ends in part Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
Tokyo International Foto Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties · Sub-licensing · Commercial use AI category
Travel Photographer of the Year 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry Ends in part Third parties Bans AI images · asks for originals
W. Eugene Smith Grant in Humanistic Photography 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Winners or selected No end date Third parties Bans AI images
Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2027 rules, checked 12 Oct 2026 Winners or selected Ends in part Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images · asks for originals
World Food Photography Awards 2027 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Commercial use Bans AI images · asks for originals
World Nature Photography Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties Bans AI images
World Sports Photography Awards 2027 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date Third parties · Sub-licensing Bans AI images
World Street Photo Awards 2026 rules, checked 11 Oct 2026 Every entry No end date — Bans AI images
Xposure International Photography Awards 2026/27 rules, checked 3 Jul 2026 Shortlist and winners No end date — Bans AI images · asks for originals

“Asks for originals”: an eligibility rule asks for original or RAW files. The data file adds the wording each reading rests on.

How this report was made

Which contests
A contest counts only when WinPhoto’s record of it is marked verified: its terms have been checked against the organiser’s own published rules, linked on every row, on the date shown. The records cover the international awards and open calls WinPhoto follows for photographers; they are not a random sample of every photo contest.
As of
Licence and AI terms were last checked on 11 October 2026 for 31 of the 34 records; 1 record has terms last checked on 12 October 2026; 2 records have terms last checked on 3 July 2026. Each contest shows when its licence and AI terms were last checked against the organiser’s rules; where the two were checked on different days, the earlier date.
Who the licence covers
Whether the licence covers every entry; shortlisted work, including finalists and nominees, as well as winners; or winning and selected work only.
How long it lasts
A licence ends in full when a fixed term covers every use, and in part when a fixed term covers only some uses or some entries. Otherwise it has no end date: it is perpetual, or the rules state no term. Perpetual and irrevocable count the records whose licence wording uses those words.
What else it allows
Sponsors, partners or other third parties: the licence names parties besides the organiser, not counting the press. Sub-licensing or transfer: the organiser may sub-license the rights, including to the press, or transfer them. Commercial use or merchandise: the licence covers commercial purposes, merchandise, “advertising and trade” or the right to “exploit” the work, without a separate agreement.
AI rules
WinPhoto classes each contest’s AI rule. Bans AI-generated images groups three of those classes: strict bans, nature rules that also bar composites, and bans that leave editing tools alone. A contest asks for originals when one of its eligibility rules asks entrants for original or RAW files, always, on request or once shortlisted.
Fees
Free to enter means no fee for a single-image entry. A fee is the standard entry fee in the organiser’s own currency; some cover several images, and many vary by entry date or entrant status. No currency is converted.
Not stated is not the same as not done
Each figure counts what the published rules say, as WinPhoto recorded them. Where the rules say nothing, the contest is counted as not stating it. That describes the rules, not what a contest does in practice: a contest may check original files without saying so in its rules.
Not measured
Two terms are not reported. Photographer credit: the records do not yet hold the credit wording for every contest. Deadline time zones: the records do not show reliably whether a contest’s rules state one.
Sources and corrections
Every contest links to the official rules it was checked against, and quotes are the organisers’ own wording; an ellipsis marks a cut. The same records feed the Rights & AI-Policy Ledger, whose public change log dates changes and corrections to contests’ terms. Buying a WinPhoto brief never changes how a contest is counted here, and corrections to the records are free for anyone.

Run a contest? Benchmark your own rules against these.

Data version fcd95249ca48 · records as of 12 October 2026 · JSON · PDF snapshot